Made to Heal: My 2nd Hospital Stay, In Photos

November 3, 2012 § Leave a comment

I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease when I was about 13 and have had ups and downs for my entire life. I’ve been on all sorts of medications and they’ve helped but I always seem to relapse.

In January, I had an intense surgery to treat my disease at Mount Sinai Hospital in NYC, in which a sizable portion of intestine was removed. I was in the hospital recovering for almost two weeks (see my blog post about that stay HERE) but I bounced back and I’ve felt great since.

On October 5th, I had the 2nd step of this surgery. Things were cut out and reconnected and it was all very painful. For my first surgery/hospital stay, I brought my Polaroid SX-70 along with me, as well as a slew of Impossible Project PX 70 and PX 100 film. This time, I instead brought my Polaroid SLR 680 and some PX 680 Color Protection film and PX 600 Cool film (which was donated to me by my amazing friend and manager at Impossible, Anne).

These are some of my photos from my time in the hospital…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I fully intended to take more photos, but I was in A LOT of pain and very spacey because of the pain meds. Some of these photos I don’t even remember taking.

It’s been another long recovery process over the past several weeks, but my health is the best it’s been for as long as I can remember. These surgeries have left me almost symptom-free and I’m grateful for that.

Thanks to my surgeon and the hospital staff for taking such good care of me and thanks to all my friends for the well-wishes during my recovery!

http://patrickftobin.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Made to Heal: My 2nd Hospital Stay, In Photos at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

