The Progression of PX 680 First Flush Shots.

May 13, 2011 § 7 Comments

Lately, there have been some complaints about how the First Flush version of Impossible Project PX 680 color film is performing for people. Yes, it yields different results from the Beta test version, but you can get great shots with it.

By keeping the print warmer while it is developing (tucked under your arm, maybe), you will improve the contrast of your images. Additionally, over the course of a few days, the speckling/mottling will fade, and the colors and tones will deepen.

Here, I’ve included scans showing the progression of the film over 3 days. I shielded them all using the “darkslide-over-the-rollers” technique (If unfamiliar with this technique, just ask!) and tucked them under my arm to keep them warm. I scanned them on the day they were taken, then 2 days after. I have auto-exposure and auto-color-correct features turned off on my scanner software, and I do not adjust them in any way in Photoshop. They’ve just been cleaned up a bit and I removed tiny fibers and whatnot.

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

So let your images cook for a few days. And remember, the warmer the print is while developing, the better your contrast will be. You may still see speckling or mottling in the lighter, underexposed areas, but hey, our factory team is always working hard to fix problems because they want the film to work just as beautifully as you do.

Keep shooting!

Please visit:
The Impossible Project.
My Flickr Photo Stream.

§ 7 Responses to The Progression of PX 680 First Flush Shots.

  • Dan says:

    One question, how long do you typically keep the images tucked under your arm?

  • Shima says:

    Hi

    I’m finishing on my first px680 film catridge. I noticed you have some indoor shots above. So far, I had all my shots indoor but the colours did not turn out as great as yours.

    In fact, without flash, it actually turned out all blur with either uber weird colours or very dark undertones.

    When used with flash, the pictures turned out clear but with a very pink tone even though shot in cooled temp and I used my hands to warm it up.

    Any idea why my shots turned out this way? I live in Singapore btw, but climate wise shouldn’t be much of an issue right?

  • Shima says:

    Yup, I had the ND filter taped over my lens and turned the knob to 2.5 to 3 shades darker from the middle. I don’t have scanned copies but I can take some shots of it to show you. I’ll email it to you, is that ok?

  • ming says:

    i am basically wasting money on the films trying to get a great shot.
    i am using polaroid 636 closeup and using px680 color shade. pictures are either all dark or yellowish, can any of you tell me what settings(as in darker/normal/lighter) should it be when im taking photos outdoor/indoor?
    and what appropriate action shall be taken once films are ejected from the camera???
    please advice.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Progression of PX 680 First Flush Shots. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

