Ode to 500.

March 14, 2011 § 3 Comments

Of all of Polaroid’s film types, one that I’ve had the most fun with is type 500. It’s a bummer I got into this film so late in the game, after it had been discontinued. The film doesn’t age well in storage, compared to some other instant film, so it’s kind of been hit or miss with the packs I’ve picked up through eBay. I have, however, gotten some great shots, using both the Captiva and the Joycam. Going back through my Flickr photostream recently, I looked at my 500 photos and felt like sharing some of my favorites here. The one above was taken in Arizona’s Painted Desert.

This next shot was taken Near Peabody, MA, on Route 1, where you can still find vintage motels and motor courts…

While taking a walk through Boston Common…

I’m always finding classic cars in Watch Hill, RI…

In one of Arizona’s botanical gardens…

At the beach on Cape Cod…

and while I know the Waffle House sign has been photographed to death, how many have you seen that were taken with Polaroid 500 film?…

Joycams can be found at any Salvation Army or Goodwill thrift store for a buck, and Captivas turn up on eBay here and there, but the film is more expensive online because there’s so little of it left. If you must track some down, I suggest going with a pack that expired in 2003 or after. Happy hunting.

Don’t forget to check out My Photo Stream.

§ 3 Responses to Ode to 500.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to 500. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

