Escape Cat.

March 7, 2011 § 1 Comment


(Polaroid Big Shot, Fuji FP-100c film)

This weekend, our boy cat LB, pictured above as a kitten, gave us a bit of a scare. On Saturday, my fiancee Amy’s sister Becky was down visiting from Boston. During the afternoon, we were out on our fire escape photographing some items for Becky. After coming back into the apartment, I shut the window, but not the screen. We carried on with our evening.

We went out that night to meet up with some friends in the West Village and got home around 1am. I let Amy and Becky take the bed, and I crashed on our couch. I woke up in the middle of the night and felt warm so I opened our living room window, thinking nothing of it, and went back to sleep.

Sunday morning, around 9am, there came a knock on our door. I shuffled to the door and opened it, and what did I see but our neighbor holding LB. I was really confused. Our neighbor said, “Is this your cat?” and I almost felt like saying, “Gee, that looks an awful lot like our cat, sir, but it can’t be LB. You see, he’s inside here somewhere sleeping.” But after shaking some more of the cobwebs from my head, I realized it was, in fact, LB. The poor guy was all wild-eyed. Our neighbor said, “I’m not sure what happened, but I woke up and found him sitting on my bed.”

I took LB, apologized profusely to our neighbor and thanked him, then realized what must have happened. Next to the fire escape, there’s a ledge that runs the length of the building. Our bedroom window is the next window over, and beyond that is our neighbor’s bedroom window. Our cats sit on the windowsills all the time. LB must have jumped up on the living room windowsill and thought, “Hey, that’s cool, I can just go out here and see what’s going on out in this nether realm, Outer Space,” much like Uncle Travelling Matt from Fraggle Rock. LB walked from the fire escape to the ledge, past our bedroom window, and climbed through our neighbor’s window, which, thankfully, was open, screen and all.

We are on the 3rd floor. If our neighbor’s window hadn’t been open, LB could have walked along the ledge around the entire building. Or fallen off and gotten lost. I feel like a negligent parent. I feel how Mr. and Mrs. McAllister must have felt when they realized they left Kevin at home. Never again, LB. Never again. I’m sorry, buddy!


(Polaroid SX-70, Impossible Project PX 100 First Flush.)

Don’t forget to sneak on over to My Photo Stream.

§ One Response to Escape Cat.

  • Jan's camera says:

    Okay, LB just used up one of his nine lives. No more open windows. I have a kitty too and I have to watch him when I open the window to make sure he doesn’t do a dive out the window. That fresh air is very enticing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Escape Cat. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

