One Month In New York City.

February 8, 2011 § 4 Comments

I can’t believe it’s already been a month since I moved to New York. It’s gone by quickly, too quickly. I’ve been spending the majority of my time doing the job search thing, so I haven’t had too much time to explore the city and photograph as much as I’d like, but I do have some NYC photos to show.

I took this one this past weekend, my first Grand Central shot…

Love that crispy PZ 600 from Impossible Project. I’m happy with the sense of clarity and stillness mixed with motion. It was fairly quiet at the time I was there, early afternoon on Sunday. The sepia tones and the blur give it a ghostly quality.

This one I took yesterday from the Central Park Reservoir’s south gatehouse, facing the Upper West Side…

That shot was taken with my Polaroid 350 and Polaroid Type 100 Chocolate film, which I hadn’t used before this weekend. I was inspired to try it out after seeing Autumn de Wilde’s Decemberists photos on display at the NYC Impossible Project space. Much like the tones of the PZ 600, the Chocolate has a vintage feel that I’m a sucker for.

This one was also taken in Central Park…

(Polaroid Spectra, Impossible Project PZ 600 film.)

It looks like it was taken during a blizzard, but that’s not the case. It was a perfectly clear, sunny day, but I happened to not shield it from light fast enough. That, coupled with the cold temperatures, is what caused the lightness. I actually was just stopped to take a photo of the woman toward the top, but as I was framing the shot, waiting for her to reach just the right spot, I noticed the dog walker in my peripheral vision coming fast with his dogs. And, luckily, the woman at the top stopped and took out a map to get her bearings. By the time she was finished and had put her map away, dog walker came into the picture, and there you have it.

This one was taken with a Pentax IQ Zoom, a cheap 35mm camera i bought used…

Along Broadway, there are tables set up on the sidewalk, with people selling books, videocassettes, audiotapes and records. As I passed by this particular table, these two smiling faces jumped out at me. It seemed kind of sad. In the 40s or 50s, someone probably loved that record and played the hell out of it. Now it’s stacked in a dirty wet crate on the sidewalk selling for maybe a dollar.

This one was taken on the uptown 2 Local train during one of the snowstorms a couple of weeks ago…

(Polaroid SX-70, Impossible Project PX 100 film.)

I’m usually wary of taking pictures of people secretly, but this guy rode uptown all the way from Chambers St. with us late night, and something about his face struck me. He seemed lonely. I’m always seeing things as if I was looking through a camera’s viewfinder, always looking for things to photograph. Sometimes, I don’t see a shot right away, but if I look at something long enough, it becomes clear to me. This was one of those times. I kept looking back across our car at this guy and eventually I felt like I HAD to get this shot. I’m happy I did.

Stay tuned for more NYC photos as time goes by. I’m always shooting.

And don’t forget to visit My Photo Stream!

(Taken w/ Pentax IQ Zoom, 35mm film)

§ 4 Responses to One Month In New York City.

  • Lauren says:

    Just stumbled upon your site (can’t remember where from now… maybe the impossible NYC twitter?) and just wanted to say thanks for posting your polaroids

    I am just getting into instant photography and they are very inspiring. Just waiting for the right time to use my impossible project film! Oh and the chocolate 100

  • Thanks, Lauren. Get shooting! What are you waiting for?! You’re going to love the Chocolate.

  • Miss B. says:

    That Grand Central shot is amazing! Are you mostly shooting with the 680 + Spectra? I love the Chocolate but you must own some of the last boxes:) I had a really bad Color Shade sx-70 experience today but I so want to get better at using the impossible film.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One Month In New York City. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

