My Very First Polaroids.

December 20, 2010 § 1 Comment

Recently, my mother found a stash of her old photos in shoe boxes and plastic bags. Among the shots were snapshots of her and her cousins on Cape Cod as kids, her father working in the garden at the house she grew up in and her brother after returning from Vietnam. Then there were these two Polaroids. These were taken at the hospital after I was born. That’s me, in the arms of my aunt.

I asked my mom, and she confirmed that these Polaroids were the first photos taken of me (I took this as a sign. It was meant to be). Seeing these pictures got me thinking again about how amazing instant film is. There really is nothing like it. When my grandparents (pictured below with my aunt) and other relatives came to visit my parents at the hospital and see me for the first time, they were probably able to walk away holding a photo of the occasion. No waiting for one hour developing, but a picture to have right away and carry around, to show friends and other family or stick on the fridge.

I’ve always believed I was born in the wrong decade. I’m an old soul in some ways. I wish I could have experienced the 50s, 60s and 70s firsthand, and I think that’s why I prefer film over digital, especially instant film. I’m always drawn to vintage signs, old buildings and classic cars and Polaroid, Fuji and now The Impossible Project have allowed me to view these things as they appeared in their own time. A real window into the past. I’m grateful that there are so many others like me, who appreciate and love instant film and want it to live on.

For instant film, visit The Impossible Project and Fujifilm

And don’t forget to stop by My Photo Stream.

§ One Response to My Very First Polaroids.

  • Jan's camera says:

    Wonderful post. I grew up in the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s and I am so glad that I did. Instant film was magic then and it is still magic now. I’m still hoping Polaroid is going to start making 600 film again someday. It is so wonderful to find those long lost polaroids.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Very First Polaroids. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

