An Instant Proposal.

December 6, 2010 § 10 Comments

This past weekend, I proposed to my girlfriend of five and a half years. I’ve known she was the one I’d marry for a long time and, as such, had a while to think about exactly how I’d go about my proposal. My second love (after my new fiance, wink), is photography, so it seemed only natural to involve photography in some way. And since, of all formats of film, instant film is my favorite, it seemed like I had my answer.
So, I had it set up like this: today is my fiance’s birthday. I had organized a surprise birthday party for her this past Friday night at a local waterfront restaurant in Boston and invited both of our families. She was under the impression that we were going to dinner with her sister and her sister’s husband, not even to celebrate her birthday early. Just a random dinner out. We both got ready for dinner, and before I called a cab to take us to the restaurant, I told her I’d like to take her picture, which is a normal occurrence for us. I had picked up some PX 600 film by The Impossible Project at their gallery/shop the last time I was in New York, so I fired up my SLR 680 and shot a photo of her lookin’ pretty. She is familiar with the mechanics of The Impossible Project’s film (it’s light-sensitive and the prints need to be shielded from light immediately upon ejection from the camera) so after taking my shot, I tucked it away to develop.

After a few minutes I asked her, “Do you want to see how the picture came out?”, to which she replied, “Sure.” So, I handed her a photo. But the photo I handed her was not the photo I had just taken of her lookin’ pretty. Instead it was a photo I had taken earlier in the day, of the engagement ring (see above). When she saw that photo of her ring, I don’t know what went through her head. She was confused, to say the least, but she understood when I got down on one knee and popped the question, presenting her with the real deal. Anyway, she said yes, as you can see here…

Then, we went to the restaurant and she was able to share the news with our families at the surprise birthday party. All around, a pretty great night and weekend. This will be a story we can tell our kids and grandkids. I’m also thinking maybe I’ll hire a photographer to shoot our wedding primarily with Impossible Project film.

Check out what The Impossible Project is doing for the future of instant film here.

Also, it couldn’t hurt you to swing by My Photo Stream too.

§ 10 Responses to An Instant Proposal.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Instant Proposal. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

