Fun With 35mm.

November 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

For a long time, I shot primarily instant film and medium format film. With my Polaroid SX-70 and my Holga or Seagull, I was seeing the world only in square. Now, I absolutely am in love with instant film, that we all know, and shooting medium format can be addictive, but I had forgotten how much fun 35mm can be.
My real passion for photography started when I took a black & white 35mm Photography class in high school with Mr. Gustafson. His appreciation for photographing the simple and oft-overlooked really struck a chord with me and for years, I shot rolls and rolls of 35mm with my Nikon FM10. But over time, I got into instant film and my Nikon got into dust. Then, I was inspired by Franklin Obregon‘s work to play around with 35mm again. I scooped up some crappy cameras at Goodwill and disposables at Walgreen’s and got to it.

I took this one with a Pentax IQ Zoom on a rooftop in Boston’s Beacon Hill…

I like the simplicity and the graininess and the unexpected. I like the idea of capturing a moment and not knowing exactly what I’ll see when I get the negatives back. The next shot was taken in Boston’s Public Garden with a Nikon Lite Touch…

And this one with my old friend, the Nikon FM 10…

When shooting with 35mm, I notice that I waste a lot more film than I would using instant film or medium format, because I’ve got more exposures to work with and because the film is relatively cheap. I basically shoot anything that l feel I’d like to see again. And I may not use every shot, but that’s what I enjoy most about it: no previewing, no deletion, just shoot and see what happens. And, just like with instant film and 120 film, the imperfections are the best part.

Do yourself a favor. Go to CVS or Walgreen’s or Duane Reade tomorrow and pick up some disposable 35mm cameras and shoot them this weekend. I’d be interested to see what you come up with. Email me with your best.

And don’t forget to stop by My Photo Stream

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fun With 35mm. at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

