We Sink Ships: “In Transit” Online Exhibition

April 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

This photo is currently featured with two others in an online exhibition titled, “In Transit” at We Sink Ships. We Sink Ships (WSS) is a collaboration featuring Heidi Kuisma, a Finnish, Glasgow based photographer and Neil Milton, a Scottish photographer, musician and record label owner living in Warsaw in Poland. Together they create and curate online photo exhibitions, along with hosting weekly radio podcasts.
I was approached by Heidi via Flickr.com to take part in the exhibition, to which I submitted three photos. I was only told the title of the exhibition, and was asked to come up with three photos that encapsulated motion and travel. I chose the above photo because I took it in Arizona while literally in transit. My girlfriend and I were visiting my cousin and his wife and kids in Scottsdale, and they lent us their car to take a little road trip. This photo was taken near Cordes Junction, AZ at a rest stop. I used my polaroid Square Shooter 2 camera and Type 88 square format pack film, because it tends to yield muted tones, which fit with the hot, dry atmosphere of Arizona, and this faded car in particular. I especially like the light leak in the top left corner.

“In Transit” is currently available for viewing, and I’m thrilled and honored to be featured alongside some of these other photographers. My favorites are Arthur Shuraev, Mary Robinson, Anna Shelton, Hannah Davis and Alan Campbell.

Check out the exhibition now at http://www.wesinkships.co.uk/

Also visit My Photo Stream.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We Sink Ships: “In Transit” Online Exhibition at patrick f. tobin • photography blog.

meta

